NewsStackNewsStack
Daily Brief: Which companies are hyping vs delivering: red flags, real signals and repeat offenders, free daily.

Annual Financial Statements - Great Places

14 Sep 2026🟢 Mild Positive
Share𝕏inf

Great Places posts strong growth, secures £320.6m for 2,600 new homes, but margins tighten.

What the company is saying

Great Places Housing Group Limited presents its approved financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2026, highlighting an 11.6% increase in turnover to £215m and an operating surplus of £53.4m. The company attributes this growth to increased rental income and a larger property portfolio, though it does not provide a detailed breakdown. The announcement emphasizes operational achievements, including delivery of 1,280 new affordable homes, 377 shared ownership sales, and 705 homes upgraded to EPC band C or above. Securing £320.6 million from the Government's Social and Affordable Homes Programme is framed as a major enabler for delivering 2,600 additional homes across the North West and South Yorkshire. The company stresses its continued G1 governance and V2 viability ratings, an upgraded consumer standards rating, and stable credit ratings with Moody's and Fitch. The tone is confident, positioning Great Places as resilient and effective in a challenging environment, while referencing ongoing investment in customer support and building safety.

What the data suggests

Turnover rose 11.6% to £215m, up from £192m, with operating surplus increasing to £53.4m from £50.0m. The operating margin fell from 23.0% to 21.6%, still above the sector median, though the exact benchmark is not disclosed. Social housing lettings contributed £162.3m, while shared ownership and open market sales added £37.8m. Fixed assets expanded to £2.07bn, and net debt increased to £972.6m, with 81% of debt at fixed rates, reducing interest rate risk. Cash balances stood at £27.7m, including £5m held for others. Operationally, 60,000 repairs were completed, 705 homes improved to EPC band C or above, and 1,280 new affordable homes delivered. The company secured £320.6m in new government funding to support delivery of 2,600 homes in the coming years. Ratings remain stable or improved: G1/V2 from the Regulator of Social Housing, C1 consumer standards (up from C2), and A3 (stable) with Moody's and A (negative) with Fitch. The figures show solid growth and delivery, but margin compression and rising debt signal increasing financial pressure.

Analysis

The announcement is generally proportionate in tone, with most claims supported by concrete, realised financial and operational data for the year ended 31 March 2026. Key metrics such as turnover, operating surplus, margin, and operational achievements (homes delivered, repairs, EPC upgrades) are disclosed with year-on-year comparisons. Forward-looking statements are limited and relate primarily to the delivery of 2,600 homes over the coming years, funded by a recently secured £320.6m government allocation. While this is a large capital outlay with long-term benefit realisation, the funding is already secured, reducing execution risk. Some qualitative statements (e.g., 'impactful work', 'confidence in our development programme') are promotional but do not materially inflate the signal given the strong factual basis. The gap between narrative and evidence is minimal, with only minor overstatement in aspirational language about future impact and delivery scale.

Risk flags

  • Operating margin declined from 23.0% to 21.6%, indicating profitability is under pressure despite revenue growth. If this trend continues, it could constrain reinvestment and debt servicing capacity.
  • Total debt rose sharply to £972.6m from £764.7m, increasing leverage and future interest obligations. While 81% is fixed-rate, the overall debt load heightens financial risk, especially if margins continue to compress.
  • The delivery of 2,600 new homes funded by £320.6m is a multi-year, capital-intensive commitment. Delays, cost overruns, or regulatory changes could impact both financial performance and sector reputation.
  • Some qualitative claims—such as operational resilience, arrears control, and customer support impact—are not backed by quantitative data, limiting independent assessment of these operational risks.
  • The company references sector median performance and customer priorities but does not disclose comparative benchmarks or detailed customer feedback, making it harder to contextualise results against peers.

Bottom line

Great Places delivered robust revenue and operating surplus growth in 2025/26, with turnover up 11.6% and a significant expansion in affordable housing delivery. The company secured £320.6m in government funding to support a major pipeline of 2,600 new homes, but these benefits will accrue over several years and require disciplined execution. Margin compression and a substantial increase in net debt signal rising financial pressure, despite stable governance and credit ratings. Operational achievements are well-documented, but some claims about customer outcomes and sector outperformance lack supporting data. Investors should focus on future margin trends, debt management, and evidence of progress on the funded development pipeline as the key drivers of value. The main takeaway: growth is strong and funding secured, but financial discipline and delivery execution will determine future performance.

Announcement summary

(LSE/AIM:15HG) Great Places Housing Group Limited approved and adopted its financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2026, with accounts approved by the Board on 26 August 2026 and signed by external auditors. Turnover increased to £215m in 2025/26, an 11.6% rise from £192m in 2024/25, primarily driven by increased rental income and a larger property portfolio. Operating surplus rose to £53.4m from £50.0m in 2024/25, while the operating margin decreased from 23.0% to 21.6%, remaining ahead of the prior-year sector median. Turnover from social housing lettings was £162.3m, and turnover from shared ownership first tranche sales and open market sales was £37.8m. Total fixed assets stood at £2.07bn, and total debt, net of arrangement fees, was £972.6m, with 81% of debt at fixed rates. Group cash balances were £27.7m, including £5m held on behalf of others. The company maintained G1 governance and V2 viability ratings from the Regulator of Social Housing, and its consumer standards rating was upgraded from C2 to C1. Credit ratings are A3 (stable) with Moody's and A (negative) with Fitch. Around £2m was invested in customer support and tenancy sustainment services. In 2025/26, 705 homes were improved to EPC band C or above, and approximately 60,000 repairs were completed, mainly by the in-house team, with a transactional score of 8.8/10. The affordable development programme delivered 1,280 new affordable homes and achieved 377 shared ownership sales. More than 2,600 homes are on site as the company continues to meet commitments to Homes England. Great Places secured £320.6 million through the Government's new Social and Affordable Homes Programme to help deliver 2,600 social and affordable homes across the North West and South Yorkshire.

Disagree with this article?

Ctrl + Enter to submit