Spire Healthcare Group — Recommended Offer for Spire Healthcare Group plc
Spire Healthcare agrees to £1,026.5m takeover at a 66% premium.
What the company is saying
Spire Healthcare Group plc and Tulip UK Bidco Limited jointly announce a recommended cash offer for Spire, structured as a Court-sanctioned scheme of arrangement. The offer is framed as a compelling 250 pence per share cash exit, valuing Spire at £1,026.5 million (fully diluted) and implying an enterprise value of £2,307.6 million. The company highlights the offer's 66.2% premium to the 13 May 2026 closing price and substantial premiums to other recent VWAPs. Spire's board emphasises the operational scale—38 hospitals, over 55 clinics, 8,800 consultants, and 1.36 million patients served in 2025—along with quality metrics: 98% of inspected sites rated 'Good' or 'Outstanding', and 97% patient satisfaction. The narrative stresses improved financial performance, citing a 32% CAGR in adjusted free cash flow and ROCE rising from 6.2% to 8.0% between FY22 and FY25. The tone is confident, positioning the deal as a strategic move to unlock value amid challenging public market sentiment and macroeconomic volatility.
What the data suggests
The offer price of 250 pence per share values Spire at £1,026.5 million, with an enterprise value of £2,307.6 million. The deal represents a 66.2% premium to the 13 May 2026 closing price of 150.4 pence, and premiums of 55.2%, 47.2%, and 40.3% to the one-, three-, and six-month VWAPs, respectively. The implied EV/adjusted EBITDA multiple is 8.6x, and 10.2x on EV/adjusted EBITDA minus maintenance capex for FY25. Operationally, Spire reported over 1.36 million patients and clients in 2025, working with 8,800 consultants across 38 hospitals and 55 clinics. Quality and satisfaction metrics are high, with 98% of inspected locations rated 'Good' or better and 97% patient approval. Financially, adjusted free cash flow grew at a 32% CAGR and ROCE improved from 6.2% to 8.0% between FY22 and FY25. Three major shareholders (excluding Toscafund) holding 42.2% of shares have irrevocably committed to support the deal. The Alternative Offer allows up to 28,000,000 shares (8.5% of total) to be exchanged for 2.5 Rollover Securities per share. Absolute revenue and EBITDA figures are not disclosed, but the multiples and growth rates suggest robust recent performance.
Analysis
The announcement is a recommended acquisition offer with headline terms that are clearly quantified and supported by specific financial and operational data. The majority of key claims are realised facts: the offer price, valuation, premiums, and operational metrics are all disclosed and backed by numbers. Forward-looking statements are limited to the mechanics of the scheme of arrangement and standard conditionality (e.g., court approval, dividend adjustments), which are routine for such transactions and not promotional in tone. The capital outlay is large, but the benefits (cash consideration to shareholders) are expected to be realised in the near term, pending scheme approval. There is no narrative inflation or exaggerated language; the tone is proportionate to the evidence. The inclusion of adjusted free cash flow CAGR and ROCE improvement provides credible support for the company's financial trajectory, though absolute profit figures are not disclosed.
Risk flags
- ●Completion risk remains until court approval and all scheme conditions are satisfied; any regulatory or legal challenge could delay or derail the deal.
- ●The offer allows for a downward adjustment to the cash consideration if a dividend or other distribution is declared before completion, introducing potential variability in the final payout.
- ●The Alternative Offer for Rollover Securities is capped at 28,000,000 shares (8.5% of total), limiting flexibility for shareholders seeking to retain exposure post-transaction.
- ●Absolute EBITDA, revenue, and net income figures are not disclosed, making it difficult to independently verify the implied valuation multiples or assess underlying profitability.
- ●The deal is being led by a consortium including Toscafund, Three Hills, and Ares, but their continued commitment post-acquisition is not guaranteed by their current involvement.
Bottom line
Spire Healthcare shareholders are being offered a 66% premium to the pre-offer share price, with a cash exit valuing the company at £1,026.5 million and an enterprise value of £2,307.6 million. The deal is well-supported, with 42.2% of shares already committed, and the implied valuation multiples are in line with robust recent growth in free cash flow and ROCE. The absence of absolute EBITDA and revenue data limits the ability to fully assess the offer's attractiveness, but the disclosed premiums and operational scale are compelling. The main risks are executional—court and regulatory approval, and potential adjustments if a dividend is declared. Investors should watch for the Scheme Document, which will detail the value of Rollover Securities and the final terms. The key takeaway: this is a near-term, high-premium exit opportunity, but final value depends on scheme completion and any pre-closing distributions.
Announcement summary
(LSE:SPI) Spire Healthcare Group plc has agreed to a recommended cash offer from Tulip UK Bidco Limited, a newly formed company to be indirectly owned by a consortium including funds managed or advised by Toscafund Asset Management LLP, THCP Advisory Limited, and Ares Management Limited, to acquire the entire issued and to be issued ordinary share capital of Spire not already owned by the consortium. The acquisition will be implemented by means of a Court-sanctioned scheme of arrangement under Part 26 of the Companies Act 2006. Under the terms, each Scheme Shareholder at the Scheme Record Time will receive 250 pence in cash per Scheme Share, valuing Spire's entire issued and to be issued share capital at approximately £1,026.5 million on a fully diluted basis and implying an enterprise value of approximately £2,307.6 million. The offer represents a premium of approximately 66.2% to the closing price of 150.4 pence per Spire Share on 13 May 2026, 55.2% to the one-month VWAP of 161.1 pence, 47.2% to the three-month VWAP of 169.8 pence, 40.3% to the six-month VWAP of 178.2 pence, and 20.2% to the closing price of 208.0 pence on 17 September 2025. The implied enterprise value multiples are approximately 8.6 times Spire's adjusted EBITDA and 10.2 times adjusted EBITDA minus maintenance capital expenditure for the year ended 31 December 2025. Eligible Scheme Shareholders may elect for an Alternative Offer to exchange Scheme Shares for 2.5 Rollover Securities per Scheme Share, subject to a maximum of 28,000,000 Spire Shares (approximately 8.5% of Scheme Shares). If any dividend or other distribution is declared prior to the acquisition becoming effective, Bidco reserves the right to reduce the cash consideration accordingly. Spire operates 38 hospitals and over 55 clinics across England, Wales, and Scotland, working with over 8,800 consultants and delivering care to over 1.36 million patients and clients in 2025. 98% of Spire's inspected locations are rated 'Good', 'Outstanding', or equivalent, and 97% of hospital patients rated their experience as 'Good' or 'Very good'. Adjusted free cash flow grew at a CAGR of 32% and ROCE increased from 6.2% to 8.0% between FY22 and FY25, with consistent like-for-like revenue growth. Three large shareholders other than Toscafund, representing approximately 42.2% of Scheme Shares, have provided irrevocable undertakings to vote in favour of the acquisition.
Disagree with this article?
Ctrl + Enter to submit