Grant of Awards under Deferred Bonus Share Plan
James Cropper granted nil-cost options to senior management under its deferred bonus plan.
What the company is saying
James Cropper plc is announcing the grant of nil-cost share options to three senior executives under its Deferred Bonus Share Plan 2023, with the awards dated 2 September 2026. The recipients are David Stirling (CEO, 16,825 shares), Andrew Goody (CFO/COO, 9,033 shares), and Paul Barber (Managing Director, Paper & Packaging, 2,052 shares). The company frames this as a routine implementation of its Annual Incentive Plan for the year ended 28 March 2026, using a share price of 384.6p averaged over the 10 trading days to 27 July 2026. The announcement emphasizes compliance with the Directors Remuneration Policy, specifically the requirement to defer AIP payments above 25% of base salary for three years and to satisfy these in shares. The company highlights that the options are nil-cost, will accrue dividend equivalents during the deferral period, and are subject to a 10% dilution cap over any 10-year period. The tone is factual and procedural, with no claims about strategic impact or future performance.
What the data suggests
The disclosed figures are 16,825 options for the CEO, 9,033 for the CFO/COO, and 2,052 for the Managing Director, all awarded at nil-cost and calculated using a 384.6p share price. The options relate to incentive payments for the year ended 28 March 2026 and will vest after a three-year deferral, becoming exercisable from September 2029 to September 2036. The awards are only for amounts exceeding 25% of base salary, in line with policy, but the actual base salaries and the value of the awards as a percentage of total compensation are not disclosed. The company states that total dilution from all share schemes will not exceed 10% over a decade. No financial performance metrics, such as revenue, profit, or cash flow, are provided. The announcement is comprehensive for remuneration disclosure but does not offer insight into operational or financial trajectory.
Analysis
This announcement is a routine disclosure of director and PDMR share option grants under the company's Deferred Bonus Share Plan, with all key figures (number of options, award price, vesting schedule) clearly stated. The tone is factual and procedural, with no promotional or exaggerated language. The only forward-looking elements are standard policy statements regarding dilution limits and the accrual of dividend equivalents, which are typical for such disclosures and do not constitute hype. There is no discussion of operational, financial, or strategic benefits, nor any claims about future company performance. No large capital outlay or immediate earnings impact is referenced. The gap between narrative and evidence is negligible, as the announcement is strictly administrative.
Risk flags
- ●The long deferral and vesting period (three years before options become exercisable) introduces retention risk, as executives must remain with the company to benefit, and future company performance may affect the actual value realized.
- ●The announcement sets a 10% dilution cap from all share schemes over any 10-year period, but does not specify the current level of dilution, leaving uncertainty about how close the company is to this threshold and the potential for future shareholder dilution.
- ●No financial or operational performance metrics are disclosed alongside the awards, so investors cannot assess whether the incentive outcomes are aligned with company results or shareholder value creation.
Bottom line
This is a standard disclosure of deferred bonus share option grants to James Cropper's top management, with 16,825, 9,033, and 2,052 nil-cost options awarded to the CEO, CFO/COO, and Managing Director, respectively. The awards are tied to the 2026 Annual Incentive Plan and will not vest for three years, so there is no immediate financial or dilution impact. The company reiterates a 10% dilution cap over 10 years but does not state the current dilution level or provide any financial performance context. There is no evidence of strategic or operational impact from this announcement, and no immediate investment relevance beyond routine governance transparency. The most important takeaway is that this is a procedural remuneration update with no near-term implications for shareholders.
Announcement summary
(AIM: CRPR) James Cropper plc announced the grant of awards under the James Cropper plc Deferred Bonus Share Plan 2023 on 2 September 2026 to certain PDMRs over ordinary shares of 25p each. David Stirling, Chief Executive Officer, was awarded options over 16,825 ordinary shares; Andrew Goody, Chief Financial and Operations Officer, was awarded options over 9,033 ordinary shares; and Paul Barber, Managing Director, Paper & Packaging, was awarded options over 2,052 ordinary shares. The awards were determined using a price of 384.6p per ordinary share, being the Company's average closing price for the 10 trading days ending on 27 July 2026, the day immediately prior to the scheduled payment date for awards under the Annual Incentive Plan. The options were awarded in respect of payments due under the Company's Annual Incentive Plan for the year ended 28 March 2026, and in accordance with the Directors Remuneration Policy, which requires payments under the AIP to be deferred for three years and satisfied in shares to the extent that these exceed 25% of base salary. The options were awarded for nil-cost, subject to the rules of the DBSP, and will be exercisable from the third anniversary of the award date to the tenth anniversary, after which they will lapse. Dividend equivalents will accrue on the options during the deferral period and, to the extent that the options vest, will be satisfied at the time of vesting in accordance with the rules of the DBSP. The Remuneration Committee and the Board intend that any dilution of the Company's share capital arising through the issue of any new ordinary shares under all share schemes operated by the Company shall not exceed 10% in any 10-year period.
Disagree with this article?
Ctrl + Enter to submit