NewsStackNewsStack
Daily Brief: Which companies are hyping vs delivering: red flags, real signals and repeat offenders, free daily.

Two grants of options in 2019 and 2020

23 Sep 2026🟡 Routine Noise
Share𝕏inf

Xaar disclosed two historic option grants to its COO, correcting past reporting failures.

What the company is saying

Xaar plc is formally announcing that two historic grants of options to Chief Operating Officer Graham Tweedale, made in 2019 (20,000 options) and 2020 (75,000 options), were not disclosed to the market at the time of grant. The company emphasizes that, despite this omission, all subsequent public disclosures and financial statements have included these grants in the total number of shares under option. The announcement provides full regulatory detail, including grant dates, volumes, exercise price (£nil), plan name (2017 Long Term Incentive Plan), and instrument identification (GB0001570810). The company frames this as a compliance update, stating that the required FCA notifications under UK Market Abuse Regulation have now been made. The tone is factual and corrective, with no attempt to minimize the lapse or exaggerate its significance. Warren Smith, Company Secretary, is listed as the contact for further enquiries.

What the data suggests

The announcement confirms that Graham Tweedale received 20,000 options on 30 April 2019 and 75,000 options on 29 April 2020, both at an exercise price of £nil and both under the Xaar plc 2017 Long Term Incentive Plan. Both transactions were conducted outside a trading venue and relate to ordinary shares of 10 pence each (GB0001570810). The company’s LEI is 213800MXEC3KAOBBPO57. There is no evidence in the announcement of any operational, financial, or governance impact beyond the regulatory correction. The company asserts that these grants were always included in subsequent public disclosures, but provides no direct evidence or excerpts from those disclosures. The data is complete for the purpose of regulatory compliance, but does not extend to broader financial or operational metrics. No forward-looking statements or performance guidance are included.

Analysis

The announcement is a factual regulatory disclosure regarding two historic option grants to a senior executive that were not announced at the time of grant but have since been included in all public disclosures. There are no forward-looking statements, projections, or promotional language present. The content is strictly limited to compliance with UK Market Abuse Regulation, providing specific details such as grant dates, volumes, exercise price, and recipient. No claims are made about future performance, operational improvements, or financial impact. There is no evidence of narrative inflation or overstatement; the language is proportionate to the subject matter. The data supports the claims made, and there is no gap between narrative and evidence.

Risk flags

  • ●The failure to disclose two historic option grants at the time of award raises questions about the robustness of Xaar's compliance and internal controls. This matters because regulatory lapses can undermine investor trust and expose the company to reputational or regulatory risk.
  • ●While the company claims all subsequent disclosures included these grants, the absence of direct supporting evidence in this announcement leaves a gap in transparency. Investors must rely on management’s assurance without independent verification within this notice.
  • ●The grants were made at £nil exercise price, which could be seen as generous and may prompt scrutiny of executive compensation practices, especially when combined with the reporting lapse.

Bottom line

This announcement is a regulatory correction: Xaar plc is disclosing two previously unannounced option grants to its Chief Operating Officer, totaling 95,000 options at £nil exercise price, awarded in 2019 and 2020. The company asserts that these grants were always included in subsequent public disclosures, but does not provide documentary evidence in this notice. There is no operational or financial impact disclosed, and the announcement is strictly about compliance. Investors should recognize this as a housekeeping update rather than a catalyst or signal of future performance. The most important takeaway is that Xaar has addressed a past compliance lapse, but the underlying controls and transparency around executive compensation merit ongoing attention.

Announcement summary

(LSE:XAR) Xaar plc has announced that two historic grants of options to a Person Discharging Managerial Responsibility (PDMR), Graham Tweedale, were not disclosed to the market at the time of grant in 2019 and 2020. Despite the lack of contemporaneous announcement, the company states that all public disclosures since the grant dates, including financial statements, have included these option grants in the total number of ordinary shares of 10 pence each under option. The first grant was for 20,000 options at an exercise price of £nil, awarded on 30 April 2019 under the Xaar plc 2017 Long Term Incentive Plan. The second grant was for 75,000 options at an exercise price of £nil, awarded on 29 April 2020 under the same plan. Both transactions were conducted outside a trading venue. The financial instrument for both grants is ordinary shares of 10 pence each, with the identification code GB0001570810. The company has now made the required FCA notifications in accordance with the UK Market Abuse Regulation. Graham Tweedale is identified as Chief Operating Officer and PDMR. The company's LEI code is 213800MXEC3KAOBBPO57. The announcement was made by Warren Smith, Company Secretary. The company is listed on the London Stock Exchange and is subject to UK regulatory requirements.

Disagree with this article?

Ctrl + Enter to submit